Our New Extended Washington Family

dianadanyel-resized

My favorite picture of Diana as a child. We were in Ghana, West Africa.  She was 10 & Danyel 7 in this picture. Diana was always blonde growing up, and it took me a while to get use to the black hair. 😉

Danyel did a lot of the planning from Germany for Di’s Memorials.  She got on Face Book with people regarding the Memorial Ride for Di at her beloved Rock the Dock with her friends.  Barbie, Debi, Joe, Tim, Marie, Gwen, Misha, and several more were private messaged.   We were in a joint message.  The logistics were calculated and Joe, Tim and Marie did a run on their bikes for what would have been a much longer ride than what we actually ended up doing due to the weather.  I rode behind Joe, Danyel behind Tim and Sam behind Mike-no small task due to his size. 🙂 Thank you to everyone that gave rides to the kids and Di’s friends that shared stories with us.  I stand amazed at the hospitality and love shown to us.  Joe and Debi were instrumental in hunting down rides, jackets, helmets and gear to keep Sam and I from freezing.  Shari, Joe’s wife,  equipped me with the jacket and chaps I wore.  Sweet Marie fixed the do-rag to keep the hair out of my face.  Danyel wore her sisters. Thank you to all that helped us!

There was a patch made up by a man named Jerry, and he also made a mirror that is hanging on the wall at RTD.   A friend of ours here in TX made T-shirts for Danyel, Sam and I to wear from this logo.  Several family and friends have had them made in honor of Di’s memory.

DianaPinUp-1R

Jerry made the mirror and it hangs on the wall at Rock the Dock.

Debi had the patches made from the design. People gave a donation, and the monies were given to the family at the Memorial.

As we were getting the Obit ready for down here in TX, Joe told me of the rallies Di helped him and others with.  They ranged from animal abuse, veterans and children that had incurable diseases.  He said she was one that volunteered without hesitation. Diana had a big heart that showed in many ways.

One story I think of is about a lady she heard screaming outside of  the place they were.  Diana went out and got between her and the man beating her almost to death and told him to deal with someone who would fight back.  Diana took the lady home with her, and took care of her wounds.  She made her stay with her until he moved out of her home.  This lady says she would have been dead if it weren’t for Di.    Much love between them and she misses her very much.

There was another story of how some ladies saved Di in a previous attempted suicide.  The whole point is there was much love given and taken in our trip to Tacoma, WA.  When we got on the plane to go we were in shock and didn’t know what to expect.  The people we stayed with were awesome and so very understanding.  Merilee even came down for a little bit to RTD .  The grace and mercy God showed was far above we could ask or think.

Di and I agreed to disagree about things.  In the growing up years it wasn’t always pleasant. I was so very touched by what more than one person said to me about Di’s and my relationship.  She never said anything but good about me.  I was her Mom and she honored me. Period.  That’s what love and family is about.

Thought I’d end this chapter of the stories I’m writing with some pictures. Hope you enjoy them.  Sam, Danyel and I love our new family and pray for them that our Father God keep them in His Hand as they ride in the wind….rubber side down!  Blessings to each and everyone of you!

Debbie

“The presence of God takes up residence in a person enabling them to live above human standards.  That is grace.” Bill Johnson

Jamie did another wonderful collage. Top: Tim, me, Rikk & Di, Danyel, Sam, Christian and Courtney, Jamie, Rikki, Angel, and Tim's Mom-Debbie.

Jamie did another wonderful collage. Top: Tim, me, Rikk & Di, Danyel, Sam, Christian and Courtney, Jamie, Rikki, Angel, and Tim’s Mom-Debbie.

Gwen(right) is the owner of Rock the Dock. Marie is the first lady we met and a good friend of Di's.  I immediately boded with both.  Marie has a great sense of the ridiculous.

Marie (L) and Gwen (R). Gwen is the owner of Rock the Dock and a class act. Marie and Di were friends…Marie pointed out the dock that she listened hours to Di. They went on bike rallies and many fun times.

One of the many pictures taken. Joe, Toni, Tim, Trish, and, Gwen are all part of the family.

One of the many pictures taken. Joe, Toni, Tim, Trish, and, Gwen are all part of the family.

Joe’s bike on the inside w/me behind, and Tim’s bike on the outside with Danyel behind as we lead the riders. It was a nice ride.

We stopped at a favorite spot of Di’s and Joe said a prayer after people shared from their hearts about Di….

Sam behind Mike.

My favorite picture of Di. I believe she is in Heaven with her Dad, Memaw and Pepaw, my Mother and Dad..and all those that have gone before.. She is no longer in pain and at peace…that peace that passes all understanding. We, the survivors that are left behind miss her, but will one day see her again. Love you much, Sissy!

About itisnotaboutme

I am a wife and mother, but first of all a child of God. Walking by faith, His grace and His mercy. Learning how to bind my mind to the mind of Christ, my steps to the path He has called me to walk and my will to the Will of God. Every day I loose the old nature, attitude and thoughts off me. (Mt 16:19) I am dead and have been crucified with Him and have risen to new life in Him being a new creation in Christ.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our New Extended Washington Family

  1. Gwen says:

    Thank you for writing this, I know it could not have been easy. God’s love is so strong in you, I’m blessed to have met you and your wonderful family. Looking forward to reading more of your insights and adventures~ ❤

  2. Tammy says:

    Di was always there to help others. She helped me more then once with heart ache. She could tell you the lamest joke and still make you laugh. She smile made you feel it in your toes. Even if she wasn’t feel it at all.
    I have been bless thru my life with many friends but never one that grabbed my heart so gently.

Leave a Reply

